Depending on where you want to work, you may need a nursing license specific to that state.  Below is more information on which states have their own specific license requirements, as well as which states are part of the Compact State program.

States with Specific License Requirements

The following states have specific license requirements:

Alabama, Alaska, California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Indiana, Kansas, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Vermont, Washington, & Washington DC

Nurse Licensure Compact States (commonly referred to as ‘Compact’ States) *Updates Below*

A Nurse with a Compact License from one of these states can practice in any of the other states using that same license. See the map below and learn more at the NLC website and ELNC website:

(click image to enlarge)

UPDATE: The eNLC has been implemented as of January 19, 2018, adding several new states to the Compact status – see below:

(click image to enlarge)

Contact CMS

  • Drop files here or
    Accepted file types: pdf, doc, jpg, png.
    Please upload a resume, cover letter, or any other supporting documentation you feel will be helpful